Bawtry Mayflower is supported by its Board of Governors which, under the terms of the 1998 Education Act, is responsible for the curriculum and welfare of pupils, the school's budget, staff appointments and the care of the buildings.

Structure of our Governing Body

There is at least one full Governing Body meeting each term at which issues are discussed and decisions made. The Governing Body is then split into sub-committees: a Curriculum Committee and a Finance Committee. Each of these sub-committees meets at least once a term. 

The Governing Body of Bawtry Mayflower consists of:

  • Headteacher
  • Two parent Governors (appointed by parents)
  • One Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Local Authority)
  • One Staff Governor (appointed by the schools staff)
  • Four Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Full Governing Body)
  • One Associate Member (attends full board and committee meetings, but isn't a Governor)

Chair of Governors

Claire Banks - can be contacted through the school office


Julie Jenkinson - remains on the Governing Body as headteacher 

Parent Governors

Ruth Veal - term of office 16th November 2015 to 15th November 2019

Nik Pratap - term of office 10th May 2017 to 9th May 2021

Local Authority Governor

Angela Scott - term of office 16th September 2016 to 15th September 2020

Staff Governor

Sarah Hoggart - term of office 24th September 2016 to 23rd September 2020

Co-opted Governors

Gloria Hunter - term of office 15th September 2015 to 14th September 2019

Claire Banks - term of office 23rd September 2015 to 22nd September 2019

Claire Bailey - term of office 1st February 2016 to 31st January 2020

Reverend Becky Hancock - term of office 27th November 2017 to 26th November 2021

Associate Member

Rebecca Parkes - teacher - end date as Associate Member 26th November 2019

Governors who have resigned or whose term of office has ended since September 2017 

Angela Bardell - 20th August 2018

Governing Body Full Board attendance and minutes 2017-2018

Autumn Term Meeting 16th October 2017 - all Governors present except Sarah Hoggart, Nik Pratap and Claire Bailey. Apologies accepted for those not present.

Full Board Inspection Copy Minutes 16th October 2017.pdf

Spring Term Meeting 15th January 2018 - all Governors present except Sarah Hoggart, Julie Jenkinson and Claire Banks. Apologies accepted for those not present.

Inspection Copy Minutes 15th January 2018.pdf

Summer Term Meeting 21st May 2018 - all Governors present.

Summer Term Meeting 25th June 2018 - all Governors present except Angela Scott, Nik Pratap, Claire Bailey and Claire Banks. Apologies accepted for those not present.

Full Board Inspection Copy Minutes 25th June 2018.pdf

Governing Body Full Board attendance and minutes 2018-2019

Autumn Term Meeting 24th September 2018 - all Governors present

Spring Term Meeting 15th February 2019 - all Governors present except Claire Banks and Reverend Becky Hancock. Apologies accepted for those not present.

Governor Register of Interests

From 1st September 2015, Governing Bodies of maintained schools have a duty to publish their register of interests. This register is required to include the following details:

Any business and pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests) including:

  • Governance roles in other educational establishments
  • Any material interests arising from the relationships between Governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives)

Please see below details of any interests declared by our current Governing Body for the academic year 2018-2019.

Name of Governor
Interest Declared
Julie Jenkinson
Claire Banks
Ruth Veal
Teacher at Edenthorpe Hall Academy
Nik Pratap
Angela Scott
Governor at The Hayfield School
Sarah Hoggart
Gloria Hunter
Claire Bailey
Head of School at John Smeaton Academy
Reverend Becky Hancock

Your browser is out of date

For the best experience and security on phones, tablets and computer screens alike this website uses technologies that are not compatible with the browser you're currently using. For more information and instructions on how to update your browser, visit

Proceed to website