Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development. These are split into prime and specific areas.

Prime areas

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development


    As the children grow and develop the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas:


  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

    At the end of reception teachers will complete an assessment known as the EYFS Profile which is based on what the teacher has observed over time.


    The Importance of Play

    Play underpins the EYFS. It also underpins learning and all aspects of children’s development. Through play children develop language skills, their emotions and creativity, social and intellectual skills. 

    Characteristics of Effective Learning

    In our Foundation Stage curriculum there is a focus on developing independent learning and the children developing their self-motivational skills. Importance is placed on how the children learn, not just on what they learn, as demonstrated in the Characteristics of Effective Learning. These key skills enable the children to become effective and independent learners.

    The characteristics of effective learning are;

  • Are willing to have a go

  • Are involved and concentrating

  • Have their own ideas

  • Choose ways to do things

  • Find new ways of doing things

  • Enjoy achieving what they set out to do

EY Curriculum Map Year A .pdf

EYFS policy december 2019 .pdf

Your browser is out of date

For the best experience and security on phones, tablets and computer screens alike this website uses technologies that are not compatible with the browser you're currently using. For more information and instructions on how to update your browser, visit https://browser-update.org/update.html.

Proceed to website